Discover Haute-Saintonge

Share 
Facebook
Twitter
E-mail

Print 

Montendre: feet on the ground, head in the clouds

Mysterra® Park is situated in the pine forest of the Montendre municipality, in Haute-Saintonge, to the south of the county of Charente-Maritime, bordering on Gironde.

Montendre is a village with a long history, nestled against vine-covered hillsides and which, in the Middle Ages, was an important crossroads for trade. Montendre overflows with stories, characters, legends and poetry.

Mysterra® Park has blended into this place of peace and quiet and the surrounding landscape, deeply rooted in the municipality’s earth. Entirely designed with a concern for sustainable development, the park slots into, merges and has become one with the local land.

Map of France, location of Montendre

Montendre’s tourist activities

Baron-Desqueyroux Lake

Set in pine trees, bordering on a Natura 2000 listed peat wetland , the 10-hectare lake is a perfect spot for fishing, walking, swimming (authorized and supervised in July and August) with a swimming-pool, pétanque, water sports (canoe-kayak, pedal boats, windsurfing, sailing) and open-air activities (archery, mountain-biking... from the leisure centre of Montendre Ville Club during the summer period. It is also the starting point of numerous trekking paths and a horse-riding relay welcomes those on horseback. Also on site are games and a merry-go-round for children.

The site is also a natural zone of ecological, fauna and flora interest.

Each year, at the end of June, the lake is the venue for the Free Music festival which draws several thousands of contemporary music aficionados.

 

Montendre castle

Montendre castle is situated on a rocky outcrop at an altitude of 114 metres and provides a vast panorama over moorlands, woods and fields as well as the tightly-packed houses of the village below. Its first building goes back to the 9th century, and was followed by reconstruction in stone during the 12th century. Much modified in the 15th century, after being fought over during the Hundred Years’ War, it became a Protestant stronghold during the Wars of Religion. 

At the entrance to the castle, the square tower houses the museum of popular art and traditions. On three levels, it shows collections from donations or loans, of coiffes (head-dresses), costumes, Saintonge furniture, together with objects of everyday life (lamps, irons, cauldrons, etc.) from the early 20th century in Saintonge, as well as clothes and games. The museum illustrates reconstituted life scenes but also has a documentary fund, made up of old photographs of Montendre, flags and banners.

For further information on Montendre go to http://www.ville-montendre.fr/

Haute-Saintonge, a tourist, cultural and leisure hub

With a vast territory of 131 municipalities and a population of 67,000, Haute-Saintonge, situated to the south of Charente-Maritime, on the borders of Charente, Charente-Maritime, Dordogne and Gironde, is a tourist, cultural and leisure hub, whose dynamic drive and creativity make it a favourite spot with visitors to Charente-Maritime.

Haute-Saintonge activities

The Vitrezay Nature Centre, on the Gironde estuary

The World of the Gironde Estuary reserves a thousand surprises for you to choose from! 
Vitrezay - a place to discover, taste, sail and fish:
At your own pace and in line with how you feel!
The Nature Centre proposes you:

  • boat trips,
  • fishing activities,
  • bike rides.
     

The Pons Pilgrimage Hospice

Built during the 12th & 13th centuries, the hospice has been featured on the UNESCO World Heritage List since 1998 as part of the Roads to Saint James of Compostella network. In a vast room and under a superb Romanesque porch, the poor, sick, orphans, travellers and penniless pilgrims found refuge and protection. 
The site also has a medicinal herb garden, inspired by monastery gardens. Covering over 3,000 m² it offers an opportunity to discover plants which cured, aromatic plants, useful plants and forgotten vegetables. Take time out for a rest near the fountain of the magic eel whose legend will be recounted to you.


The Nature Centre of the House of the Forest

In Montlieu-la-Garde, in the heart of the Double Saintongeaise forest, the House of the Forest welcomes you for a fun & educational visit of nature, and whose programme includes an exhibition dedicated to trees and forest, a walk through an area of 20 hectares, events, creative workshops, children’s games, watchtower for an impressive panorama, etc.


Tropical Jonzac

All the heat of the tropics is waiting for you under a huge white canvas, where the lagoon bordered by palm trees and a garden of exotic varieties invites you to take a dip in the water at a temperature of 30°. Fun for all with a giant toboggan, water games, trampoline, beach volley, but also a fitness space, Turkish baths, a park-sauna, hot marble, UV booths, a solarium and therapy rooms. Creole houses, colourful shops, a panoramic restaurant featuring savours from all over the world, an area for shows and congresses in a theatre of greenery that invites you to stroll against a backdrop of luxuriant vegetation. 


The House of Vines and Savours

In Archiac, discover vines and wine-tasting, local savours, events, culinary workshops, conferences and exhibitions, as well as the media hub.


There are also walks and treks, the House of Energy, the Val de Seugne Park, the Sailing School of Port Maubert, Terra Aventura, the Saint-Georges Quarry, the Castle of riddles, the Centre for safety and machine sports of Haute-Saintonge, a remarkable architectural heritage, as well as a spa complex and a congress centre.


For more information, go to http://tourisme.haute-saintonge.org

Book 
online

Professional space 

Make the park a private venue
For a private event (company incentives, birthdays or anniversaries... ), organise a one-off day at Mysterra

Schedule 

le Saturday 05 May 2018

Découvrir la Haute-Saintonge

Partager
Facebook
Twitter
E-mail

Imprimer

Montendre : les pieds sur terre, la tête dans les nuages

Le parc Mysterra® est situé dans la forêt de pins de la commune de Montendre, dans le pays de Haute-Saintonge, au sud du département de la Charente-Maritime, à la frontière de la Gironde.

Montendre est un village à la longue histoire, niché à flanc de collines couvertes de vignes et qui fut au Moyen Age un très important carrefour commercial. Montendre regorge d’histoires, de personnages, de légendes et de poésie.

Le parc Mysterra® s’est donc totalement adapté à ce lieu de calme et de paix, parfaitement intégré dans le paysage, parfaitement ancré dans la terre même de la commune. Entièrement conçu avec le souci du développement durable, le parc s’imbrique, fusionne et fait corps avec ce terroir.

Carte de France emplacement Montendre

Les activités touristiques à Montendre

Le lac Baron-Desqueyroux

Dans son écrin de pins, en bordure d’une tourbière classée en zone Natura 2000, ce lac de 10 hectares est un lieu idéal pour la pratique de la pêche, les promenades, la baignade (autorisée et surveillée en juillet et août) et la piscine, la pétanque, les sports nautiques (canoë-kayak, pédalo, planche à voile, bateau à voile) et de plein air (tir à l’arc, VTT…) à partir de la base de loisirs Montendre Ville Club en période estivale. C’est aussi le point de départ de nombreux sentiers de randonnées pédestres et un relais équestre accueille les promeneurs à cheval. Sur place également, jeux et manège pour enfants.

Ce site est également une zone naturelle d’intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique.

Chaque année, à la fin du mois de juin, le lac accueille le festival Free Music qui attire plusieurs milliers d’amoureux des musiques actuelles.

 

Le château de Montendre

Le château de Montendre s’élève sur une éminence haute de 114 mètres et domine un vaste panorama de landes, de bois et de prairies ainsi que les maisons resserrées du vieux bourg en contrebas. Sa première construction remonte au IXe siècle, elle a été suivie d’une reconstruction en pierre au XIIe siècle. Profondément remanié au XVe siècle, après avoir été très disputé pendant la Guerre de Cent ans, il devient une place forte protestante pendant les Guerres de Religion. 

A l’entrée du château, la tour carrée abrite le musée d’art et de traditions populaires. Celui-ci expose sur trois niveaux des collections issues de dons ou de prêts, de coiffes, costumes, meubles saintongeais et d’objets ou outils de la vie quotidienne (lampes, fers à repasser, chaudrons, etc.) du début du XXe siècle de la Saintonge ainsi que des vêtements et des jeux. Le musée présente des scènes de vie reconstituées mais également un fonds documentaire, constitué d’anciennes photos de Montendre, de drapeaux et de bannières.

Pour en savoir plus sur Montendre, http://www.ville-montendre.fr/

Le pays de Haute-Saintonge, pôle touristique, culturel et de loisirs

Vaste territoire de 131 communes et de 67 000 habitants, la Haute-Saintonge, située au sud de la Charente-Maritime, à la confluence de la Charente, de la Charente-Maritime, de la Dordogne et de la Gironde, est un pôle touristique, culturel et de loisirs dont le dynamisme et la créativité en font un lieu apprécié des visiteurs de la Charente-Maritime.

Les activités en Haute-Saintonge

Le Pôle nature de Vitrezay, sur l’Estuaire de la Gironde

L’Univers de l’Estuaire de la Gironde vous réserve mille surprises, à vous de choisir ! 
A Vitrezay l’estuaire se découvre, se déguste, se navigue, se pêche :
A chacun son rythme, à chacun sa manière !
Le Pôle Nature vous propose :

  • des croisières en bateau,
  • des activités pêche,
  • des sorties en vélo.

 

L’hôpital des pèlerins de Pons

Bâti au cours des 12ième et 13ième siècles, cet ensemble hospitalier est inscrit au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO depuis 1998 au titre des chemins de St Jacques de Compostelle. Dans une vaste salle et sous le beau porche roman, pauvres, malades, orphelins, voyageurs et pèlerins désargentés trouvaient refuge et protection. 
Ce lieu de visite possède également un jardin médicinal, inspiré des jardins de monastère. Sur plus de 3000 m² découvrez les plantes qui soignent, les plantes aromatiques, les plantes utiles, les légumes oubliés et offrez-vous un instant de repos près de la fontaine de l’anguille magique dont on vous contera la légende.


Le Pôle nature de la Maison de la Forêt

A Montlieu-la-Garde, au coeur du massif forestier de la Double Saintongeaise, la Maison de la Forêt vous accueille pour une visite nature, pédagogique et ludique avec au programme : exposition permanente dédiée aux arbres et à la forêt, balade dans un espace de 20 hectares, animations, ateliers créatifs, jeux pour les enfants, tour de guet pour admirer la vue, etc.


Les Antilles de Jonzac

Toute la chaleur des tropiques vous attend sous une immense toile blanche, où le lagon bordé de palmiers et d’un jardin aux essences exotiques vous lance une invitation au plongeon dans une eau à 30°. Du plaisir pour tout le monde avec toboggan géant, jeux aquatiques, trampoline, beach volley, mais également un espace-forme, des hammams, un sauna-parc, un marbre chaud, des cabines UV, un solarium et des salles de soins. Des cases créoles, des boutiques colorées, un restaurant panoramique des saveurs du monde, un espace spectacle et congrès dans un théâtre de verdure vous invitent à la flânerie dans une végétation luxuriante. 


La Maison des vignes et des saveurs

A Archiac, découverte de la vigne, initiation à la dégustation, saveurs du terroir, animations, ateliers culinaires, conférences et expositions, médiapôle vous attendent.


Mais aussi des balades et des randonnées, la Maison de l’Energie, le parc du Val de Seugne, l’Ecole de voile de Port Maubert, Terra Aventura, la carrière Saint-Georges, le Château des énigmes, le Pôle de sécurité et de sports mécaniques de Haute-Saintonge, un patrimoine bâti remarquable, un centre de cure thermale et un centre des congrès.


Pour en savoir plus, http://tourisme.haute-saintonge.org

Réservez
en ligne

Espace professionnel

Privatisez le parc
Pour un événement particulier (incentives d’entreprises, anniversaires... ), organisez une journée unique à Mysterra.

Agenda

le Samedi 05 Mai 2018